Practice Award


The Award for Distinguished Contributions to Practice in Community Psychology is presented annually to an individual whose career of high quality and innovative applications of psychological principles has demonstrated positive impact on, or significant illumination of the ecology of, communities or community settings, and has significantly benefited the practice of community psychology. 

Past Award Recipients

2019      Dennis Mohatt

2018      Christiane Sadeler, Waterloo Region Crime Prevention Council 

2017      Judith Meyers, Children’s Fund of Connecticut

2016      Ruth Hollman, SHARE!

2015      Pamela Imm

2014      Sam Tsemberis, Pathways to Housing

2013      Kien Lee, Community Science

2012      Susan Wolfe, Susan Wolfe & Associates, LLC

2011      *

2010      William Neigher, Atlantic Health

2009      Andrea Solarz

2008      Rich Jenkins

2007      Jerry Shultz

2005      Peter Dowrick, University of Hawaii

2004      David Julian, Ohio State University

2003      Jose Toro-Alfonsois

2002      Debbi Starnes, Emstar, Atlanta, GA

2001      Ed Madera, Denville, NJ

2000      Will Edgerton, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

1999      Tom Gullotta, New London, CT

1998      Vivian Brown, Manhattan, CA

1997      Steve Fawcett, University of Kansas

1996      Joe Galano, College of William and Mary, VA

1995      Bill Berkowitz, AHEC/Community Partners, Amherst, Massachusetts

1994      Gloria Levin, National Institute of Mental Health

1993      Maurice Elias, Rutgers University

1992      David Chavis, Rutgers University

1991      Beverly Long, World Federation of Mental Health

1990      John Morgan, Chesterfield MH-MR Department, Chesterfield, VA

1989      Frank Reissman, City University of New York

1988      Betty Tableman, Department of Mental Health, Lansing, MI

1987      Donald C. Klein, Union Graduate School

1986      Anthony Broskowski, Northside Community Mental Health Center, Tampa, FL

1985      Thomas Wolff, C, Amherst, Massachusetts

1984      Carolyn F. Swift, Interactive Development and Training, Columbus, OH

1983      Saul Cooper, Washtenaw County Community Mental Health Center, Michigan 

* In 2011 award dates were changed to reflect the year the award was presented. For this reason some awards that are given annually do not have a 2011 recipient.